Wine..Dine…69??

Saturday,2247hrs GMT

Phone rings..Caller ID-Unknown(random number)

Trucaller says it’s “George”….”but I don’t know any George” I think to myself.

Usually,I do not and never pick numbers that I do not know,but on this night,I picked up.I think I picked up because I was curious and also,i was abit lonely and looking for company to go out for drinks with(what we call,sponsors for the night😂)

“Hi” I proceed to greet the stranger on the other end.

“Heyy,How are you,how have you been?” The voice answers back.

“Uhh, I’m well,been alright,thanks.Sorry,who am I speaking to?”

“It’s G!”

“G???”..at this point my mind is racing trying to remember what the Alphabet letters stood for.G for Giraffe..Gazelle.. Geography maybe!!but hey,I couldn’t be talking to a Giraffe or a Gazelle right?

Guys!! If i ever ask who you are the second time.. it’s because I still don’t know who it is!!Yess I have forgotten you exist and it’s not my fault if we haven’t talked for 221 million years!!(see what I did there 😅😂)

“George..Asha’s friend??” He tries to remind me.

“Ohhhh,yeahhh!!!!”…”Dear Lord!!How long has it been?a year yet?” I try to be nice:)

“Haha!C’mon!It can’t be that long……”

(Wait.. what?!!Are you trying to say that I am suffering from dementia..or is it amnesia..or both.I have forgotten your name-and face btw-and you dare imply we last met last week,boy bye!)

“……Anyway,I was thinking maybe I could take you out for dinner or drinks.Catch up??”

“Uuhhh…Yeah,sounds nice..When?”

“…I was thinking tonight…..”

At this point,I laugh…So hard..Harder than I should’ve!

“Umm..G,Sorry but I can’t.I have an early start tomorrow”

If you know me well you know that there’s never an early Sunday for me..ever😂But this was a booty call!!And not today Satan!!Not with Him atleast!!With an older Kenyan Jaden Smith,Maybe 😅

People,help me here. It’s 11pm..if I was to get ready in the shortest time,it would be by 11.30pm..Pick me up/Call an uber…Meet at Midnight.Where in this country are you taking me to Dinner at Midnight..not unless it’s the 24hrs Altona and Mc’Frys,and it’s not that I don’t eat at fast food joints..I dooo actually,more than people know😅(they’re my I’m broke but I want chicken go to places) but there’s no way I’m getting out of my very comfortable happy socks to go out and “catch up” with someone I haven’t met and talked to for close to 6months over Altona’s Chicken and Chips.Happy Socks win this time!

Unfortunately though,this is what is ‘normal’ in this day and age.People are more comfortable calling at hours between 11pm and 2am to “say hi” and “ask you out”. Gone are the days when before a couple officially started dating,they’d go out to a nice intimate restaurant and actually get to know each other with no distractions.Nowadays,hell, you’re a lucky one if he buys you a smokie with totally no strings attached*rolls eyes*.These days,a few flirty text messages and winky kiss emojis and bam!you got the girl wrapped up on your finger.A simple “you’re beautiful” compliment once in two weeks is enough for adulting girls to settle and feel loved.

Men are making less and less effort to get the girls and us adulting women(lol) are settling for less and less.Those who are actually going an extra mile and going to fancy dates,fancy restaurants,feel like they’re in heaven for that moment in time when they should always be in heaven

Once,a guy asked to take me out to my favorite restaurant..and it was a fine dining restaurant(still is!)We had a great time,Great meals..amazing banter,Fine and expensive wine.. dessert and the like.We had agreed that he would drop me off at my place after the date,but he started being sexually suggestive..which is normal and okay up until he suggested that “I should be nice” to him since “he was nice to me” by taking me out,Lol.

Which begs the question…Do you really have to wine,dine then 69 today?Today being 21st century

My 2c: No you don’t.There are some really nice Gentlemen and women doing stuff for the other person and the only strings attached are to see them happy.Genuine Affection.

We just have to stop settling and start self loving. Stop the urban wine,dine and 69 and start Wine,Dine and Repeating:)

Author: kenyanadultingfemale

A simple Kenyan girl who Loves wine and books-Never keeps time and is scared of insects,dogs and cats.She is adulting and just sharing the experience😄

7 thoughts on “Wine..Dine…69??”

  1. Makes for a good reading, and I am a picky reader 🙂
    Well done! Really curious to see these things from your feminine prescriptive.
    Wine, dine, then 69. Hell, it even rhymes.
    I’m following your blog and looking forward to new entries.

    PS a tiny weeny suggestion. Actually two: make sure to put spaces after commas – it’s conducive to smoother reading flow; don’t be shy to break text into more paragraphs. It’s easier to read that way, be it on PC or phone.

    Have a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it’ll be interesting for you to read a handful of haiku on my haiku blog as some of them revolve around “man & woman” relationships 🙂
        Thanks in advance!

        Like

Leave a Reply

